A trip to the Zoo!

If there’s one thing I appreciate from doing this blog it’s that I like eggs for breakfast. A lot:

image

The gerbils were being super cute this morning, this was how we found them sleeping:

image

Followed later by some grooming:

image

Today we had a trip to a zoo I’ve not been to for over 20 years, the zoo was the inspiration for the film We Bought a Zoo staring Matt Damon due to it being shut and reopened with much improved animal welfare:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bought-Zoo-DVD-Matt-Damon/dp/B008J2131Q/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1367091329&sr=8-1&keywords=we+bought+a+zoo

The animals, in the main, seemed reasonably happy with perhaps the exception of the lion who was pacing a lot but it is possible I guess that her behaviour could have been from when the enclosures were smaller? The staff were very visible and working hard so hopefully their care is much better now!

Meerkats playing:

image

Tiring life waiting for food to arrive 😉

image

image

The absolute best bit of the day was a Falcon display and I would have willingly paid the zoo entry fee for this alone! The first bird was a great owl and he was absolutely beautiful:

image

At one point the handler stood close behind me and called the owl (who was some distance away) – he flew along the ground towards me, rose up in front of me and skimmed literally a couple of cms above my head (even though I had laid right back it only just missed me!), to audible gasps all around me (and from me too!!) It was amazing being so so close to such a beautiful bird in flight!

The next bird was this one – I can’t remember the name but it began with a C and was 2 syllables which were repeated (like caracara) – if anyone knows then please tell me! She was amazing too and quite comfortable hopping around the audience to the point where he said he doesn’t always take her to big shows any more as she spends more time on the ground than in the air!

image

image

image

image

Supper tonight was salmon and broccoli bake:

Mix cooked, flaked salmon in an oven proof dish with broccoli and a roux sauce, adding herbs of your choice:

image

Add grated cheese:

image

Add mashed potato and then bake in the oven at 180ºC for 20 minutes:

image

Served with peas, sweetcorn and broccoli:

image

image

It was absolutely delicious and even my fish pie hating husband said he really liked it (woo-hoo!) on the grounds I called it a bake rather than a pie, lol!

Leave a Reply

