Chocolate birthday cake with kitkats and smarties!

This morning I started a five day sugar detox. I’ve fallen in to a vicious cycle of eating sugary things to keep me going because I haven’t been sleeping well because of pain. This doesn’t help though because the resulting sugar crash makes me feel even worse!  I have a headache now and am beyond shattered but day 1 is done! By day 5 I hope to be feeling better and more able to continue leaving it alone!

Breakfast this morning was poached eggs and toast. For some reason two of the eggs really didn’t hold, one did though so at least I had one for our 4yo! The younger two really don’t like eggs unfortunately so I hadn’t cooked any for them.

image

image

This morning was busy (Friday always is at the moment!) with an appointment in town, a few errands to run and then briefly popping in to see my parents to drop a birthday gift for them to give to a relative they were seeing later that day for me.

Lunch was hastily heated in their microwave and eaten in the car while waiting for my physio appointment. 

image

I was in quite a nasty car crash last December, I was driving down a country lane (single car width) when someone pulled out of her driveway. She took out every panel on the side of our LandRover but, by doing so, flipped me round and put me headfirst in the hedge. Thankfully the 3 children were all absolutely fine but I had whiplash, a shoulder injury, fractured rib and a pelvic injury. It also greatly exacerbated something I needed surgery for which made the final wait for my op even more painful (especially when it was cancelled, and therefore delayed further, 3 times). My shoulder isn’t healing though and the tendon is still very swollen and incredibly painful, not helped that it is being pinched by the injured AC joint. I now need a steroid injection in to the shoulder but this has to be done with ultrasound guidance as the site they need to inject is right within the shoulder and only 1mm wide. Oh joy.

After physio I had to make a cake for my father in law’s birthday! While that was in the oven my 4yo and I played out in the garden and made a daisy chain!

image

image

I hadn’t been able to get enough smarties for the cake so on the way to nursery we ran in to the supermarket and met a friendly helicopter!

image

Supper tonight was toad in the hole with green beans and broccoli :

image

image

Yum! I use chipolatas as I prefer the size for toad in the hole!

After supper we decorated the cake! First the two sponges were sandwiched together and covered in chocolate buttercream (frosting)

image

This was then decorated with kitkats round the outside and tied with a ribbon. My father in law loves rainbows after seeing one while in an ambulance very ill so hence the ribbon choice! I asked for enough to go round a cake and queried whether a metre would be long enough. She insisted it was, I wish I’d listened to my gut feeling that it wouldn’t be but never mind, nothing to be done now and I could just tie it!

image

The top then needed decorating with all the smarties!  Funnily enough I had 4 very willing helpers for this!! Hopefully it will be well received tomorrow!

image

Leave a Reply

